A bear hunt with a difference

Have you come across the children’s story, “We’re going on a bear-hunt”? It has the kind of repetitive structure that children love, with lots of obstacles getting in the way of finding the bear. I use it regularly in my lessons, as it’s great for encouraging pupils to develop different sound effects.

WP_20140407_003[1]

How much noise can I make with these?

God has been reminding me recently that I need to choose to trust him when life doesn’t go as smoothly as I’d like – which led to the following story:

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to change direction?

I’ve worked on this for many years –

I can’t back out right now.

 

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to up my giving?

Don’t you know there’s a recession –

I just haven’t cash to spare.

WP_20140407_006[1]

My shoes-fund is looking a bit depleted.

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to show forgiveness?

Remember what they did to me?

That simply isn’t fair.

 

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to love the “misfits”?

I don’t think that’s my gifting –

Someone else should go instead.

 

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to learn to trust you?

Well…that’s okay, as long as you

Explain your plans to me.

WP_20140407_007[1]

 This doesn’t make sense to me…

I want to follow Jesus –

It’s going to be amazing!

I know I’ve made the right choice,

So I’m sure that I won’t fail.

 

Hang on, what’s that?

I need to understand

That darkness, grief and suffering

Are on the road ahead?

 

My Lord, are you completely sure

You know just what you’re doing?

The things you ask are far too hard:

It seems I’m doomed to fail.

 

And Jesus said:

 

I’m calling you to follow me –                                

And it will be amazing;

As grace and mercy light your path –

For my love never fails.

file3721264377199

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A bear hunt with a difference

  1. 20angel13 says:

    I love that book! But I think I love yours even more!! What a great idea – my favourite part is the last verse 🙂 This has made my day Fiona. Thank you…

  2. Amy says:

    Brilliant. Love it. Slight lump in the throat, too…

  3. This is wonderful – I know this book off by heart – but your interpretation is wonderful – Thanks for sharing it. Lynn

Leave a Reply

