What is it?

I did think of calling this post “The mysterious item I discovered lurking at the bottom of my handbag” – but that’s not quite as snappy. Anyway, I’ll give you a million guesses as to what this is:

WP_20140116_009

No? Well, it’s small enough to fit in my handbag; although any woman who has children will know it’s incredible how much junk can be squashed into one bag. A few more clues: it’s made of wood, measures about 4cm by 0.5 cm and I come across around 150 of them every week.

WP_20140116_002

There’s probably a lost child in here somewhere…

My day job involves travelling round different schools, teaching violin. The object in the picture is the sound-post from my instrument. This should be wedged between the top and bottom surfaces of the violin. I don’t understand enough about physics to tell you how it works, but the post is there to amplify and enhance the sound.

A couple of weeks before Christmas, I dropped my violin. This is a regular occurrence with my pupils’ instruments: it comes under the heading of “Ways to raise Miss’s blood pressure”, along with loosening the pegs when they think I’m not watching. Fortunately, apart from being out of tune, it seemed fine…until I drew my bow across the strings. Yuck! (Insert your own joke here.) I tipped my violin from side to side, and was rewarded with an ominous rattle. Somehow, the impact had dislodged the sound-post. Everything looked normal – but my violin was effectively useless.

2013-11-29-353

Does it sound as good as it looks?

When King Saul turned away from God, the prophet Samuel was charged with going to visit Jesse and his sons to anoint one of them as the new king. Samuel was impressed by the older sons, but God had different ideas. “Man looks at the outward appearance,” said God, “but the LORD looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16: 7, NIV.)

In the same way, I find it easy to focus on external things, to the detriment of what really matters. My challenge to myself this year is to stop worrying about my “outward appearance”, and to let Jesus be my spiritual sound-post. When I keep him at the centre of things, my life has meaning, purpose and beauty.

P3100429

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is it?

  1. 20angel13 says:

    Fiona,, this is so what i needed to hear after the day I’ve had! What a brilliant analogy and beautifully and simply described. Thank you!

  2. hazel weeks says:

    Thank you for your encouragement Fiona and to be reminded of God,s truth in how he sees us which is what matters. we can easily worry about what others may think or worry how others may see us , and take our eyes off Gods truths and his heart for us.look forward to the next one love Hazel xx can your violin be repaired ?

Leave a Reply

