Excess Baggage

I’m beginning to get used to my crutches. Whereas at first I struggled to move from room to room, I can now motor along at some speed – so long as I don’t have any stairs to negotiate! My upper-arm muscles must be twice the size they were before I fell.

2013-07-07-202_1

I’ve got my family nicely organised: help with the washing and cooking, and cups of tea on demand. Now I’m at the stage where I can put a bit of weight on my foot I’ve started cruising round the furniture, in the same way that babies do when they’re trying to walk. And I can shuffle up and downstairs on my bottom as fast as any two-year old.

It’s funny how quickly I’ve developed new ways of doing things. Sitting at the table to prepare vegetables. Planning outings so that I don’t have to hop too far. I’ve reverted to buying groceries online – and if I time it right, one of my daughters will unpack it all and put it away for me. Clearly, there are some plus points to my current situation.

2013-07-03-201

It feels as if my pot has become a part of me, although hopefully by the time you read this it will have been removed and I’ll be mobile again. (I’ll also have no excuse for not hanging the washing out, but never mind.)

I suspect there are things which hamper my spiritual walk that have equally become part of my life. Attitudes I’ve embraced for so long, I’ve forgotten they’re there. Thought patterns that cripple my emotional well-being. And I know that it’s often easier to adapt my life around such issues rather than go through the hassle of removing them. Sometimes I’ve settled for walking with a limp instead of learning to move with “hinds’ feet”. (Habakkuk 3: 19).

As a child of God, however, I don’t have to live like that. My poor choices and bad habits have no right to determine my walk with God. When I allow him to deal with my excess baggage, I can learn to live in the freedom he has promised me. (Galatians 5: 1).

file000321909801

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Excess Baggage

  1. Clare Weiner says:

    Loved this one Fiona! Have been thinking of the ‘instant’ reactions I have, and how on earth God can change those… good to knw that the verb in ‘be ye perfect’ (KJV!!) is in the origianl an ongoing not an instant requirement. I wonder how many youngters you have – obviously 2 daughters, and I think a son? Glad they are being helpful.

    • fjlloyd says:

      Thanks, Clare – this has been an interesting experience for me! I often wish that God could change me in an instant – and I’m sure that he could if he wanted to – but I guess I learn more about walking with him when the transformation is a gradual process.

      • Clare Weiner says:

        I think you’re right there: those who were instantly healed, I wonder how many stuck withlearning more? 9 lepers apparently buzzed off happlily without even saying thank you…! Life is a process…

  2. Helen Murray says:

    I think you’re right, Fiona. I know that there are things in my life that I’ve sort of built in – somehow over time I’ve started to believe that they will never change; I’ll always walk with a limp; and it doesn’t have to be like that because God is in the business of restoration and healing. I’m trying to figure out how to let go of the passive, defeated attitude and allow Him to work. It’s not easy.
    Glad that you’re on the mend – hope you have lots of time feet up after the plaster comes off to let your leg get some sun!

    • Clare Weiner says:

      So interesting a discussion. “Letting go’ of this stuff isn’t easy: I always feel he bad stuff’s far too integrated and integral… it’s usually been laid down so early! Quite HOW God deals with it is also a mystery – and how much we have to be/become aware. If a small child has been made to feel unwanted, and a failure (for example, & I don’t mean you!!) healing that is a really big deal. CAn we ‘let go and let God”? He undoubtedly will at some stage take off the little balance wheels from the bike…(stabilisers, aren’t they called?) and it’s scary to think whether we shall go on, trusting him and oursleves that it’s still okay… that’s how I feel, anyway!

Leave a Reply

